Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Writer's Competition

Skyway Writers Festival 2019

Thursday, November 14th / 3pm-8pm  / Hosted by: Elgin Community College. 1700 Spartan Drive, Elgin, IL 


Skyway Writers Festival 2019 Awards

  Poetry Fiction  Drama Non-Fiction
First Place


Grace Armstrong

McHenry County College


Jacob Skinner

Elgin Community College

"The Creeksville Bookstore"

Lily Pinkowski

College of Lake County 

“Scrambled Eggs”

Ryan Webb

Elgin Community College

Second Place

"I Asked My Mother What Her Heaven Would Look Like and She Didn't Have an Answer"

Casper Badovinac

College of Lake County 

"One Hundred Days of Prayer"

Tomoko Funahashi

College of Lake County 


"Checking Out"

Frank De Canio

Waubonsee Community College


“Why Does She Look Like That?”

Tegan Hathaway

Waubonsee Community College


Third Place


Nicole Dela Rosa

Moraine Valley Community College 

"Gone Fishin"

George Vander Linde

Waubonsee Community College


Hannah M. Leonard

Prairie State College 

“No More Brown”

Mark Milan

Oakton Community College