Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

History of the Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference

In 1969, the Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference was established.  The original colleges that participated were:

  • College of Lake County
  • Elgin Community College
  • Harper Community College
  • Mayfair (now Truman) College
  • McHenry County Community College
  • Oakton Community College
  • Triton College
  • Waubonsee Community College

 The founding principles/purpose:

  1. Have 6-8 colleges;
  2. Each institution was within 80 miles of each other;
  3. Each institution had to have a minimum of 6 sports;
  4. Athletic Directors & Faculty Representatives were to meet regularly (e.g., Board of Control)
  5. Institutions were to follow similar recruiting and scholarship rules;
  6. Institutions were to share a similar philosophy.

Each school paid a $100 stipend for the conference the initial year.  In 1970 the Illinois Junior College Athletic Association also was formed (may have been renamed NJCAA Region IV).  Triton and Harper left the conference after the 74-75 season to join the new football conference with Joliet Junior College, Rock Valley College, Illinois Valley Community College, and College of DuPage.  In 1977-78 Morton College joined and 1982-83 Wright Community College Joined.  Wright and Mayfair (Truman) left the conference in 1992-93.  Moraine Valley Community College joined in 1995-96 and Prairie State College joined in 2003-04.

Two individuals, Dave Rowlands (Mayfair) and Dick Durrant (Elgin) were both instrumental in the formation. Both have athletic awards named after them for their personal and purposeful commitment to the ISCC.   


The Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference consists of eight member colleges that compete in twelve sports for athletic conference championships. In addition, the conference hosts co-curricular events such as the Jazz Festival, Writers Competition & Festival, Art Competition & Festival, and STEM Competition. 

The Illinois Skyway Conference is governed by the Board of Presidents (BOP) from member institutions and the Board of Control (BOC) with representatives from each institution.  Athletic and Co-Curricular Directors from each institution ensure athletic programs and co-curricular events adhere to the Conference guidelines and constitution.

Illinois Skyway member colleges belong to the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) and are located in Region IV, which consists of 26 junior colleges. 

The ISCC must have six member institutions at all times.  Member institutions must participate in six conference sports and half of the (two) co-curricular activity programs.  There must be four colleges participating for it to be considered a conference sanctioned event.